Mining My Data

After I read Rohini K. Srihari’s interview from  Data mining on the Web is shaping our world. Are we ready for it? , I became consciously aware of how data mining might change the way organizations and companies pop up into my own life. Srihari called it “socially targeted advertising”. I actually see some benefits to data mining like viewing more local advertisements on my email page. I enjoy seeing that my local garden store has an ad on herbs or learning that a new restaurant has opened down the road. I like the “Customers who bought this item also bought” recommendations on Amazon, too. When I read Don Tapscott’s book Grown Up Digital, I realized how much the Net Generation relies on search queries for not only the products they choose, but many other lifestyle choices. Since this generation is moving away from traditional advertising resources, it makes sense that companies must also move to different medias to sell themselves.

However, my thoughts also drifted back to a particular 1-8oo number that called several times this entire week. Since we have caller ID, my children never answered it and neither did I. This particular caller was relentless. They called at 8am, 1pm, 6pm and even one late evening at 9:30pm. Finally, I caved one day in the middle of dinner. I answered to hear the lovely voice a woman asking me to donate to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, again. Sadly, I asked her to remove my number because I hated the way they were so persistent in calling me.  Could Data Mining end up on the same sour note? Will individuals rebel at the thought of being “targeted” or is it really just another media jump? My mail today consists of a stack of tennis camp pamphlets, a coupon for dog food and a trial cooking magazine. It looks like companies and organizations already know what I am about.  And yes, I will end up back on the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society list because I do donate every year for my friend’s  running group. Maybe this year, I will just give her cash.

Leave a comment