Eeny, Meeny, Miney, Moe

It’s amazing how many different media tool platforms are out on the Web. The easiest part of my LSC 597 book review assignment was choosing Grown Up Digital as my book and reading it. Early on, I had decided to use PowerPoint, make a slideshow and add some voice to it down the road. As I read my book, I was inspired by the collaborative norms of the Net Generation.  I emailed several friends and acquaintances, told them what I was doing, and asked for format suggestions. I received quite an inventory for my toolbox. The animation route was a very popular suggestion. In addition to Xtranormal, I looked at Go!Animate and Animasher. Xtranormal had the best overall design for my review, but I worried about the length of time it would take me to share my thoughts. I moved on to creative storytelling platforms like Projeqt and Storybird.

All the while I also continued working on my PowerPoint presentation. It  had just reached about 18 slides. I began to panic. I  started thinking that I had to go big. Magic Studio , Zoho Show, Slideshare,  Sliderocket and Prezi were my next round of platform possibilities. At the end of the night I fell back onto Glogster, a tool I had used last semester to create a virtual poster. It allowed me to share all the information I had compiled on my slides and it had the interaction I wanted my viewers to feel. Unfortunately the widget to post this directly to my blog failed. You will have to check it out at http://msialeonardi.glogster.com/netgen/


One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Loraine on July 5, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    Hi Susan–Great review..I think I like Glogster! One of the librarians I work with has been using it with her 5th graders and has been pleased with its features.
    From your discussion of the book, it seems like something both parents and educators need to read and reconsider their interactions when dealing with the Net-Geners..
    It’s beginning to seem that they now have “the power” and goodness knows the US will need many innovators and collaborators to make the significant changes needed.

    Loraine

    Reply

Leave a comment