Does the Journey ever really end?

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”
Ernest Hemingway

When I enrolled in this course, I had several pre-existing assumptions about Social Media, Web 2.0 and Library 2.0 floating around in my head. I have reconsidered many of these ideas throughout my time socializing in LSC 597 this summer. Join me as I think back to the beginning…

1. Facebook + Twitter = Time Suck.

We have all been there. I log on to view my niece’s new photo album on Facebook and two hours later I am still reading posts about how my high school girlfriend in Texas removed crayon markings from her son’s wall. As adults, we are just time limited online. Dry cleaning needs to be picked up, the dog needs a walk, and somebody needs to cook dinner tonight. Facts of my life.  My adventures on Facebook hit a wonderful high when I created the URI LSC group. I looked forward to reading all those library posts and insights every day because I was really interested in the topics. It was a quick, reliable source of information for me to look at and it didn’t take as much time out of my day to read as the blogs. I created a Twitter account for this course and discovered that I also found the same information surge of satisfaction following tweets. Surprise. Surprise.

2. I can totally write a blog. Super easy!

I have criticized many blogs out in cyberspace. Now that I am wearing the awkward blog shoes,  I am so humbled by how much effort it takes to be creative, informative, and conversational in a just a few paragraphs.

3. Net Geners are missing out.

I am completely curious about this generation of text lov’in, you tube video creating bunch of digital natives. I spent so much time worrying about what was missing from this generation’s education and social skills that I failed to realize the boundless opportunities they have because of their attitudes and access to technology. I am no longer asking my teenage daughter to get off of skype. She’s asking me if I want to check out ooVoo.

4. 911- do you have a social networking tool I have to learn, too?

I was initially overwhelmed with the amount of social networking sites, Web 2.0 tools, and Library 2.0 services. How’s a girl to know all these things when half of them were ditched yesterday? I have found an “inner calm” towards the end of this course. As we discovered on Linda Phelps Facebook poll, we all play favorites. Keep your eyes out for the exciting, ears open to hear what people say they like, and master the tools you like best.

5. It’s still about the ATTITUDE.

You have got to be open to new ideas, new ways of creating experiences and more opportunities for sharing resources. Are people surprised to hear a Librarian say this? Sadly, yes. The digital environment is changing our entire landscape as libraries juggle new technologies, wrestle with budget cuts, and create new niches. Better get your chair comfortable because you are going to be providing services of all sorts online whether you like it or not. Smile:)

One response to this post.

  1. I feel like this is a very eloquent post, and it humbles me that I have had some part in the learning that has happened for you this summer….

    Reply

Leave a comment